Magic Owls

There are approximately 222 owl species worldwide. They are very enigmatic birds.

“Owls have fascinated man from time immemorial – to some cultures they are symbols of wisdom, while to others they are harbingers of doom and death. Here, The Owl Pages sheds some light on these mysterious creatures…”(Owl Pages)


barred owl


Great horned owl


Species Tyto alba

Owls are a group of mainly nocturnal (active at night) birds. They are Raptors, or Birds of Prey, which means they hunt other living things for their food, using their special adaptations and unique abilities that set them apart from any other creature.

Tyto alba chickens

Owls have a very wide range of vocalisations, ranging from the hoots so often associated with Owls, to whistles, screeches, screams, purrs, snorts, chitters and hisses. Hooting is often territorial, and is also associated with courting, the male usually having the lower pitched Hoot. It should be noted that not all Owl species Hoot.
Owls can also make clicking noises with their tongues, often as part of a threat display. They may also clap their wings in flight as part of a mating display. (from: Owl Pages)


Barn Owl

~ by florinorfolk on May 28, 2008.

21 Responses to “Magic Owls”

  1. They are such a magic species! I can hear them shouting around my house in the night – very gothic!

  2. Beautiful photos! I’m lucky enough to occasionally see owls in my neighborhood. What beautiful, magical creatures they are.

  3. Hello! We live next to the Ocala Forest in FL and often see Barred Owls. Is it possible to purchase a copy of the photo of the Barred Owl above? Thankyou,
    Charlotte Centilli jccentilli@cfl.rr.com

  4. I am brazilian gay and I loved the fotos! thanks for all

  5. Yeserday, I saw a beautiful owl in a barn in Morgan Hill. When I sent an email to a friend and described the owl, he confirmed she is a barn owl and provided me with this link. Thank you for sharing information about these magnificent creatures.

  6. May use your pictures for a university project? Of course I shall give credit to you.

  7. i know that owl.

  8. Last night I found an OWL on the side of the road. I think it is a baby. I took it home and I now have it in a cage. I don’t know what to do with her??
    Help
    Mary 281-685-3857

  9. Great pictures! I’m wondering if you would mind me altering one of those pics (great horned owl near the top) and printing them out on shirts. Email me at seancanuel@hotmail.com with a reply please.

  10. I have a house in The Gambia and often hear owls at night in our compound (garden). It is a very comforting sound when you are so far away from home. I can always drift off to sleep listening to them.
    Jenny

  11. good photos

  12. excellent web site – love the barn owl – saw a pair in wales a few years ago and have their image burned in my memory.

  13. beautiful ..a bit scary douh buh lol..interesting i think

  14. the baby’s are so cute i just want to pinch there cheeckes

  15. using great horned owl to put on a Pagan staff in poker work thankyou for the inspiration

  16. […] Rowe’s mom Kit helped me identify the type of owl as a barn owl. I’m excited to use these new little blessings in new pieces. I’m not sure I’ll […]

  17. These Birds are so Pretty! Got several Great Horns in my area!! Love them!

  18. These are beautiful photos. Owls do represent the mysterious and I believe can be messengers of wisdom. During a trauma mentoring class near San Francisco, our group held a ceremony where we laid down our burdens symbolic of letting go of emotional traums. A pair of owls sat on a branch overhead, flying in to witness our ceremony….very close and stayed during the entire mid-afternoon proceedings. It was magical.

  19. Wow They are so cool. I was browsing google for some owl pics, to explain something on my wesite article, and i landed on these cuties. so i just linked to this site,so my vistores can enjoy a whole lot of cute owls:-)

    thanks For a cool idea.
    Carole

  20. Very nice website. Pictures are awesome

  21. Thank you for these great pictures and information which allowed us to I.D. the three we discovered perched together on a limb by our porch. I watched them for hours. They didn’t mind my taking pictures of them up close or the noises of daily living activities. I’d like to know if they are passing through or if they’ve decided to stay in our area.

Leave a Reply

 
